Christina Barr and I are working to write some of the history of public sector folklore work in the West. We would like to interview as many of you as possible when opportunities present themselves. We’d like to know about your programs, when they started, who the personnel have been, how you’ve solved funding problems, how you’ve approached working with your constituents, and more. I did some fairly extensive interviewing in Utah when I wrote the essay for Dave Stanley’s Folklore in Utah book. Now Christina and I would like to do the same in other states.

If you have existing materials such as interviews or writings of past coordinators, other folklorists in your state, etc., those could be useful as well. We’d like to know who in your state should be interviewed, and if there are some people who should be interviewed sooner than later. We welcome any suggestions our colleagues might offer. You can contact me at elaine.thatcher@usu.edu.

