Though it may be hard to believe (depending on where you live), spring actually is just around the corner, which means that the annual meeting of the Association of Western States Folklorists is coming.

In the next couple of days you will find here details about the Dave and Bea Roeder Fund: For the Future of Public Folklore in the West, including how to apply.  This fund was established in memory of Colorado folklorist Bea Roeder, whose work in folklore touched lives throughout the western U.S. and the world.  Her husband Dave passed away in 2011.  AWSF is grateful for continued support from the Roeder family.

Although I never met Bea, I have always loved hearing about her from the folklorists who knew her well.  At every AWSF meeting I’ve attended, Bea’s work and legacy are mentioned.  It’s through her legacy that I was able to attend my first AWSF meeting in Rapid City in 2008, shortly before I finished graduate school at Western Kentucky University.  At that meeting I met the person who encouraged me to apply for my first folklore job.  I was also welcomed into this family of folklorists that has deserts and rivers, mountains and farmland, conquest and conservation running through its veins.  That alone was worth the stress of skipping out on a crucial week during my last semester of school.

Stay tuned for more details!

[posted by Nelda]

